Whitehorse Daily Star

New mayor looks forward to three years of work

Whitehorse city council was officially sworn into office Monday night.

By Whitehorse Star on October 31, 2006

Whitehorse city council was officially sworn into office Monday night.

At a ceremony in city hall's council chambers beginning at 7:30 p.m., new Mayor Bev Buckway and councillors Jan Stick, Doug Graham, Dave Stockdale, Dave Austin, Florence Roberts and Jeanine Myhre took their official oaths of office.

The councillors swore they had sought and obtained office in a fair manner and that they would do their best to serve the citizens of Whitehorse with honesty and integrity.

Keeping with tradition, Buckway and each councillor recited the Athenian Oath, a civic code first recited by the citizens of Athens 2,000 years ago.

Buckway addressed her fellow councillors and members of the public present in the gallery and watching the ceremony on television. She said she and her fellow council members will do their best to act in the interest of all citizens.

'We will seek solutions to the different situations which will arise and we will seek solutions that are in the best interest of the city.

'I think I speak for the entire council when I say we're looking forward to serving you for the next three years,' Buckway said.

Following the ceremony, the new council had a brief meeting. The purpose was to appoint chairs and vice-chairs of the city's standing committees, responsible for discussing specific areas of city operations, as well as for ad-hoc committees, committees and boards that sit to discuss and address peripheral issues of the municipal government, such as tourism and policing.

Chairing the city's administrative services committee will be Myhre, with Graham acting as vice-chair.

The city planning committee will again be chaired by Graham, with Roberts acting as vice-chair.

The city operations committee will be chaired by Austin and Stick will be sitting as the committee's vice-chair.

Stick will also be serving as the chair of the community services committee, with Stockdale sitting as vice-chair.

The public health and safety committee will be chaired by Roberts and the vice-chair is Austin.

Stockdale will serve as the chair of the tourism and economic development committee, with Myhre serving as the vice-chair.

For the ad-hoc committees, Stick and Myhre will attend meetings of the Association of Yukon Communities.

Sitting on the Canada Winter Games Host Society will be Buckway, Austin, Stick and former mayor Ernie Bourassa, who Buckway defeated in the Oct. 19 election.

Bourassa did not attend last night's ceremony. Former councillor Mel Stehelin, who did not seek a second term in this month's election, wasn't there either.

Roberts, meanwhile, will be the city's representative for Crime Prevention Yukon.

Serving on the persons with disabilities advisory committee will be Myhre.

Buckway will be the city's representative for the Whitehorse Housing Authority and the Whitehorse policing advisory committee.

Stockdale will sit on the Tourism Industry Association of Yukon as well as the Yukon Regional Roundtable and Myhre will sit with the Yukon Convention Bureau.

Be the first to comment

Add your comments or reply via Twitter @whitehorsestar

In order to encourage thoughtful and responsible discussion, website comments will not be visible until a moderator approves them. Please add comments judiciously and refrain from maligning any individual or institution. Read about our user comment and privacy policies.

Your name and email address are required before your comment is posted. Otherwise, your comment will not be posted.