Yukon North Of Ordinary

Sports archive for July 19, 2013

Team Yukon roster set, 99 athletes bound for Canada Games

With the Canada Summer Games now firmly on the horizon, 99 Yukon athletes are preparing to show their best in Sherbrooke, Que. next month.


Photo by Whitehorse Star

Trevor Twardochleb

With the Canada Summer Games now firmly on the horizon, 99 Yukon athletes are preparing to show their best in Sherbrooke, Que. next month.

This year’s Games will run Aug. 2 to 17. The Yukon is hoping to build off a four-medal performance in Charlottetown, P.E.I. at the last Games, held in 2009.

There, 16-year-old Alexandra Gabor won all four of the territory’s medals, including two golds – a first ever for the territory at a Canada Summer Games.

Chef de Mission Trevor Twardochleb said this year’s squad is smaller than those historically sent to the national tournament, as the territory will not be competing on the basketball courts this time around.

Including officials and support staff, the Yukon contingent will see 143 people head to the city of more than 200,000 people, located east of Montreal.

Twardochleb said he is not sure what to expect from this year’s team.

“There’s a lot of kids that are quite young on this roster, and then there are kids where this will be their second time around,” he said this morning. “I know that their expectations will be different than some of these younger kids. I tend to not put pressure on anybody. My job is to make sure that they have everything that they require in order to make their experience a good one ... From there, they set their own expectations.”

Twardochleb said it is difficult to matchup against powerhouse provinces like Ontario, which took home a top 201 medals in 2009.

Despite that, each athlete will cherish the memories made at the largest multi-sport tournament the country has to offer.

“These kids are going to be around competitors that move on to represent Canada at the Olympics,” said Twardochleb. “It’s just a wonderful experience to be able to be around such athleticism, and to be a part of the Canada Games.”

The Team Yukon roster is listed below.


Roster: Logan Boehmer, Sam Bonar, Aidan Bradley, Sara Burke-Forsythe, Max Clarke, Kieran Halliday, Karter Kazakoff, Katie Londero, Emily Oettli, Brittany Pearson-Smith, Scott Peterson, Odette Rivard, Anna Rivard, Logan Roots, Brody Smith.

Officials: Don White (coach), Christine Kirk (coach), Sam Lindsey (manager).


Roster: Andrew Crist, Jason Zrum.

Officials: Zackaria Mahmoudi (coach).


Roster: Trever Harris, James McGrath, Parker Olson.

Officials: Jeff Wiggins (coach), Gord Zealand (manager).

Volleyball (female)

Roster: Corey Baxter, Julianna Campbell, Heather Clarke, Robyn Fortune, Courtney Greenway, Kelcie Henney, Daria Jordan, Kiana Palamar, Kat Robinson, Anna Smith, Cayley Sparks, Patti Wallingham.

Officials: Derick Bilodeau (coach), Roslyn Tait (assistant coach/manager), Bonnie Palamar (manager).

Volleyball (male)

Roster: Rob Borud, Max Clarke, Justin Dragoman, Mason Gray, Stephen Grundmanis, Michael Hunter, Jon Koltun, Cody Park, Kieran Small, Albert Spycher, Lowell Tait, Kyle Wallace.

Officials: Russel Tait (coach), Janna Tait (assistant coach); Torey Wiebe (manager).

Mountain Biking

Roster: Massey Baker, Veronica Huggard, Andrew Savard, Spencer Skerget.

Officials: Anthony Delorenzo (coach); Ziggy Reimer (manager).

Road Cycling

Roster: Phil Hoffman, Melanie Tait.

Officials: Trena Irving (coach), Phil Hoffman (manager).

Soccer (female)

Roster: Stephanie Avery, Samantha Burgis, Jenelle Cousins, Emily Dorosz, Camile Galloway, Anna Janowicz, Jaylene Kelly, Megan Lanigan, Lauren Leslie, Carolyn Miller, Hannah Milner, Brittany Milner, Moya Painter, Morgan Paul, Cheyenne Ryan, Chloe Turner-Davis, Emily Wilson, Samantha Wintemute.

Officials: Charly Kelly (coach), River Walton (assistant coach), Leslie Gomm (manager).

*Soccer (male)

Roster: Michael Amirault, Travis Banks, Brendyn Gendron, Owen Hedstrom-Langford, Brendan Irish, Colin Kabanak, Dominic Korn, Malcolm Muir, Belgie Nunez-Zuniga, Tristan Olynyk, Axel Riemer, Jonathon Runions, Timber Schroff, Andrew Scoffin, Marten Sealy, Kieran Stacey, Christopher Torgerson, Mike Wintemute, Callum Wood-Ryan.

Officials: Victor Lavanderos (coach), Arnold Hedstrom (assistant coach), Teresa Banks (manager).


Roster: Haley Braga, Emily Crist, Taylor Harvey, Ben Janzen, Cassis Lindsay, Dannica Nelson, Isabel Parkkari, Adrian Robinson.

Officials: Stephanie Dixon (coach), Kathy Zrum (coach), Shereen Hill (manager), Spencer Edelman (manager).


Roster: Gentianne Graham, Aline Halliday, Kieran Halliday, Ewan Halliday, Khang Pham, Alex Roberts.

Officials: Jan Polivka (coach), Stacy Lewis (manager).

*Unofficial roster, pending naming of alternate player.

CommentsAdd a comment

No comments yet. Why not be the first?

Add a comment

In order to encourage thoughtful and responsible discussion, comments will not be visible until a moderator approves them. Please add comments judiciously and refrain from maligning any individual or institution. Read about our user comment and privacy policies.

Your full name and email address are required before your comment will be posted.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

Comment preview