Yukon North Of Ordinary

Sports archive for January 17, 2014

Love left off national senior men’s roster

Wheelchair Basketball Canada released the roster for the 2014 Canadian Senior Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team today

By Marcel Vander Wier on January 17, 2014 at 2:20 pm


Photo submitted

NOT THIS TIME – Whitehorse native Aidan Love’s name was left off Team Canada’s roster. Photo courtesy WHEELCHAIR BASKETBALL CANADA

Wheelchair Basketball Canada released the roster for the 2014 Canadian Senior Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team today, and Whitehorse native Aidan Love’s name was not on it.

The team was named following an annual, week-long selection camp at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, that included 19 of the top players in the country.

Love, 21, was considered a longshot to make the country’s top team. He first played for Canada at the world junior championship in Turkey last fall, and remains a promising prospect.

“It did not come as too much of a shock,” Love admitted to the Star this morning.

“This year, there was a lot of competition in my class with a lot more experienced players. I am new to the sport and being selected to attend a Canadian selection camp in itself is a huge personal achievement. I now have to return to Toronto and continue to improve my skills to prepare for next year’s trials.”

The roster features a group of experienced veterans and new talent as Team Canada begins the next phase of preparations toward competing for the gold medal at the Toronto 2015 Parapan American Games and the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Eight athletes are returnees from last year’s team, including six players that captured gold for Canada at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Four rookies were also named to the 12-man roster.

Players who made Team Canada include returnees: Aaron Moseley-Williams (Winnipeg), Abdi Dini (Scarborough), Adam Lancia (Halifax), Chad Jassman (Calgary), David Eng (Montreal), Nikola Goncin (Regina), Robert “Bo” Hedges (Wonowon, B.C.), and Tyler Miller (Kitchener), as well as rookies Deion Green (Victoria), Jonathan Vermette (Sherbrooke), Philippe Vermette (Sherbrooke), and Vincent Dallaire (Quebec).

CommentsAdd a comment

No comments yet. Why not be the first?

Add a comment

In order to encourage thoughtful and responsible discussion, comments will not be visible until a moderator approves them. Please add comments judiciously and refrain from maligning any individual or institution. Read about our user comment and privacy policies.

Your full name and email address are required before your comment will be posted.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.

Comment preview